Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

Eye Play

The gaze is a focusing technique. By directing the gaze at specific points (the space just beyond the tip of the nose, between the eyebrows) the focus is directed inward. This brings more concentration and awareness into the movement. Keep the gaze soft.

The nine looking places are called nava drishtis

1. Nasagrai - the space just beyond the tip of the nose. This is used most often and is the primary drishti in the sitting postures.

2. Ajna chakra - the space between the eyebrows (ex. Purvottanasana/intense east stretch)

3. Nabi chakra - navel center (ex. Adho Mukha Svanasana/downward dog)

4. Hastagrai - hand (ex. Trikonasana/ triangle)

5. Padhayoragrai - toes (ex. Savangasana/ shoulderstand)

6. Parshva - far to the right (ex. Supta Padangusthasana/reclining big toe posture)

7. Parshva - far to the left (ex. Marichyasana C/Marchisposture)

8. Angushtha ma dyai - thumbs (beginning of Suryanamaskara/sun salutation)

9. Urdhva drishti ou antara drishti - up to the sky ( Virabhadrasana A/warrior)



1. Pay attention to your wandering eyes. What distracts you?

2. Try to control the urge to look toward something moving in the distance.

3. Gaze at the space just beyond the tip of your nose for one minute.

4. Does sound distract your eye gaze? Smell? Notice how your senses direct your focus.

5. At different times during the day focus your gaze at specific points (the space just beyond the tip of your nose, navel, a spot on the wall) and see what it takes to make you look away.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment