Exposition of the sacred syllable OM

Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

From the Markan$d$eya Purana Chapter 42 Dattatreya spoke;

The Yogi who lives thus, rightly busied in religious devotion, cannot be turned away even by hundreds of other lives. And when he has beheld the Supreme Soul, visible, existing in all forms, whose feet and head and neck the universe composes, the Lord and Creator of this universe, let him in order to attain thereto utter the one mighty and holy syllable OM! Let it be his study as he listens to its true form.

A and U and M are its three letters; these are its three instants; they are characterised by goodness, passion and ignorance. And another, a half instant, which has its seat on the top of the head is without quality and can be understood by Yogis only. It is called gandhari, as it is to be uttered in the gandhara note (Ga)*. Being pronounced it reaches the head and it conveys the feeling of ants moving (on the top of the head).

As the syllable OM being pronounced reaches the head, the Yogi who is lost in meditation of OM should become united with Brahman, the Supreme Soul. Life is his bow, the soul is his arrow, Brahma is the target sublime. It is to be pierced by the heedful man; he should be united with Brahman, as the arrow becomes embedded in the target.

The syllable OM, consisting of three and a half instants, should be known in its true sense as the three Vedas - the Rig, Sama and Yajus - the three worlds, the three fires, and the three deities Vis$hn$u, Brahma and Shiva. And the Yogi who is absorbed in religious meditation thereon, may obtain extinction therein.

Moreover the letter A is designated the Bhur-loka (Earth), and the letter U the Bhuvah-loka (Sky) and the letter M with its nasal mark is decided to be the Swah-loka (Heaven). Now the first instant is called the discrete (manifest) the second the indiscrete, and the third instant is the intellectual faculty (consciousness, attention); the half instant is the highest abode (final emancipation from existence). In this very order must these stages of religious meditation be known. By uttering the word OM everything both existent and non-existent may be grasped.

Now the first instant is short, the second is long (two instants), and the third is prolated (three instants) and the half instant is not cognisant to speech.

Such is this word. Brahman is designated the Supreme OM. The man who truly understands it and further meditates on it, escaping the circle of mundane existence casts off the three-fold bonds, and gains sublime extinction in Brahman, the Supreme Soul. And he who is bound with the unconsumed results of his actions, after experiencing death through ill omens, and recollecting it at the time of his departure, attains to a yogi's condition again. Hence by means of imperfect religious devotion, or again by perfected religious devotion are always to be known the ill omens' so that he does not sink into despondency at the time of his departure.

End of chapter 42.

Note: This corresponds to the order in which creation took place. The Undifferentiated and Attributeless Supreme Spirit, Brahman, awoke from the night of dissolution of the first creation (Padmavasana); first clothed Itself in goodness and manifested as Narayana (The One who lies on the waters, Shri Vis$hn$u, the All-pervading). Next It clothed Itself in action and passion and manifested the creation as Shri Brahma, the God of Knowledge, and thirdly became clothed in desire and darkness as Rudra (Shri Shiva).

*Ga is the third note of the scale (Sa, re, ga, ma, pa, dha, ni, sa) The note Sa' is found by singing the lowest note you can reach and coming up 3 tones ie. the fourth lowest note. This is usually around B flat for men. Ga would then be D flat or D.

Mantras for the Chakras

To help raise the Kundalini, clear the Chakras and develop the qualities of the particular Deity within ourselves, the aspects of the Divine (Deities) which govern each Chakra can be invoked.

The basic form is as follows:

Om Twameva saksShat Om, You are manifesting in person r

ShrT saksShat, The Holy Lord

ShrT Adi Shakti MatajT, You who are verily the Primordial Creative

Energy, the Supreme Mother, r

ShrT Nirmala Devyai To Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi,

The Immaculate Goddess, namo namaha Salutations again and again.

In the space indicated, say the name of the Deity to be worshipped related to the Chakra you wish to clear.

Normally the mantras are said once or three times but can be said continuously until the vibrations clear. Placing the right hand on the relevant chakra with the left hand to Shri Mataji's photograph also helps; or the left hand if working on the right side.

Any blockages can be cleared by praising Shri Mataji as the SwaminT (Ruler) of the particular Chakra or Nadi. For example, at Agnya Chakra, say 'Shri Agnya Chakra SwaminT' etc.

'Mantras may take the form 'Om twameva sakshat (Shri Mata) namo namaha', so it will be short, as when saying the 108 names or 'Om twameva sakshat (Shri Hamsa Chakra Swamini) sakshat Shri

Mataji Nirmala Devi namo namaha' and may be said three times, as when said for a particular chakra'.

H.S.H. Shri Mataji 17/18th May 1980 Winchester a'

*Technically it is correct to say 'ShrT Nirmala Devyai namo namah as we are saying 'We bow to Shri Nirmala Devi ' and Devyai is the dative form. This is how it is written and said in India.

However to say 'ShrT Nirmala Devi namo namaha' is not incorrect as this would be the vocative meaning 'O Immaculate Devi, salutations again and again'.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Meditation For Peace

Meditation For Peace

Free Your Mind And Achieve Peace. Discover How To Live In Peace And Harmony In A World Full Of Uncertainty And Dramatically Improve Your Quality Of Life Today. Finally You Can Fully Equip Yourself With These “Must Have” Tools For Achieving Peace And Calmness And Live A Life Of Comfort That You Deserve.

Get My Free Ebook


  • hagos saare
    How to pronounce devyai?
    8 years ago

Post a comment