Chakras Mudras Mantras and Mandatas

Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

In This Chapter

^ All about chakras: wheel of life force energy ^ Meditations on mudras ^ Chanting with mantras ^ Mandala circle power

We mention chakras many times throughout this book, but in this chapter, we go into more detail about chakras: what they are, what they do, and how you can use them to optimize your physical, mental, and spiritual health.

In yogic thought, the body contains seven energy centers, called chakras (literally "wheels"), that store energy, or the life force, prana. Westerners would interpret the chakras as nerve centers, but they are much more than this. They are centers of psychospiritual energy that don't precisely correspond to any tangible physical structure.

While the body contains many energy centers and subenergy centers, there are seven primary chakras along the midline of the body. Different people have different names for these chakras and place them in slightly different locations, but in essence, most agree that these seven chakras begin at the base of the spine (where the kundalini energy we talked about in Chapter 7, "Can You Breathe?" lies coiled and waiting to be activated) and continue along the spinal cord, ending in the seventh chakra at the crown of the head.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment