Kundalini Fact and Fiction

Complete Kundalini

Kundalini Awakening

Get Instant Access

The general idea prevailing about Kundalini, in both the East and the West, is of a mysterious and fabulous power lying dormant in men, which, when roused to activity, can confer amazing psychic gifts and transhuman states of consciousness on the successful initiates. The belief is current in India and elsewhere that those, in whom the energy vivifies the seventh centre in the brain, are transmogrified and attain unlimited dominance over the forces of nature. This belief is fostered by the high claims made in the ancient literature on Kundalini-Yoga about the infinite possibilities for the elevation and deification of those who propitiate this divine power. The ascent of Kundalini from Cakra* to Cakra is attended, it is said, with progressively increasing psychic powers until in the seventh centre the mortal becomes one with supreme Reality, or Lord Shiva, the Creator, Preserver, Destroyer of the three worlds. The Yogi, it is averred, gains limited powers of domination over men, fascination for women and sovereignty over the forces of nature. Thus in Mahanirvana

*Cakra: In Yogic parlance Cakra signifies a centre of psychic force, to be existing on the cerebro-spinal axis, beginning from Muladhara root-support centre, at the base of the spine. The number of Cakras, as now generally held, is six through which Kundalini rises on its ascent to Sahasrara in the crown of the head. In the ancient texts these centres are depicted being circular in formation.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment