Arohan and awarohan psychic passages

Yoga Booty Challenge

Yoga Poses and Workouts

Get Instant Access

In this kriya and a number of subsequent kriyas you will be required to move your awareness through two psychic passages called the arohan and the awarohan. The path of these passages is as follows:

Mooladhara Chakra

Arohan is the ascending psychic passage which starts from the mooladhara chakra, travels forwards to the swadhisthana kshetram in the pubic area, then follows the curve of the belly to the manipura kshetram, upwards to the anahata kshetram and vishuddhi kshetram in the front of the throat, then in a straight line to bindu at the back of the head.

Bindu Chakra

Awarohan is the descending passage which starts at bindu, travels forwards to the ajna chakra, then down through the sushumna in the spine, passing through all the chakra trigger points in turn, to terminate at mooladhara.

Arohan and awarohan join each other at bindu and mooladhara. Together they form an irregular shaped psychic circuit in the body, something like a squashed egg. The entire circuit is shown in the top picture.

These two psychic passages are widely known throughout the world, especially in mystical circles. They are used in various types of healing methods. In acupuncture there are two types of pranic passages (meridians) - normal meridians (called sei-ke) and abnormal meridians (called ki-ke). The normal meridians, twelve in number, are used in diagnosis and treatment. The abnormal meridians, eight in number, have no yin-yang interrelationships. The two principal abnormal meridians are called the meridian of conception, running up the front part of the body directly in front of the spine, and the governor meridian, running inside the spine (refer to Religion and Parapsychology by Motoyama of Japan). These two meridians correspond exactly with the arohan and awaro-han psychic passages of kriya yoga. The front passage is yang, whereas the spinal passage is yin. These principles of yin and yang have deep implications and roughly correspond with the yogic principle of ida and pingala.

In acupuncture, these two meridians are regarded as reservoirs of prana. In the case of disease, the necessary vital energy flows from the corresponding abnormal meridian and brings relief. The vital energy then flows back to the meridian.

These paths are not imaginary, but are actual subtle passages in which prana flows. At first in kriya yoga one may have to imagine the flow, but with practice and the development of more subtle perception, one will actually feel the flow of prana in these passages.

You should fully familiarize yourself with the exact route and location of the arohan and awarohan passages and try to develop sensitivity to them. They are an integral part of chakra anusandhana and a number of subsequent kriyas. One of the aims of kriya yoga is to balance the prana that flows through them.

Was this article helpful?

+3 0
Lessons In Gnani Yoga The Yoga Of Wisdom

Lessons In Gnani Yoga The Yoga Of Wisdom

Students of Yoga are not only looking to reach peace within their bodies, but also their minds. The Yogi Philosophy may be divided into several great branches, or fields.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment