Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

The Sanskrit word bhru means 'eyebrow' and madhya means 'centre'. Therefore, the meaning of bhrumadhya is 'eyebrow centre'. This exactly describes the location, of this point. It is also called trikuti - 'the dwelling place at the eyebrows'.

The ajna chakra and bhrumadhya are really part of the same centre. Ajna chakra at the top of the spine is connected directly to the bhrumadhya between the two eyebrows by a psychic passage called maha nadi. Therefore, stimulation of bhrumadhya will also stimulate ajna chakra. Since the bhrumadhya is much easier to locate, it is widely used in yogic practices to awaken ajna chakra. These two centres are so closely interrelated they are often regarded as one psychic centre, and for practical purposes there is nothing wrong with this. Together, they can be regarded as the third eye.

Bhrumadhya (and ajna) is the centre where ida and pingala end - where they merge with sushumna2. These three nadis (psychic passages) merge together to become sushumna alone. For this reason, the bhrumadhya is also called triveni (the three strands), mukta triveni (the place of three strands from which one gains liberation) and the trikuti (the dwelling or meeting place of the three nadis). Bhru-madhya is also called prayaga after a town in India which lies at the junction of the rivers Ganges and Jamuna, and the mythical underground river Saraswati, which connects them. These three rivers represent ida, pingala and sushumna respectively.

Bhrumadhya lies directly in front of ajna chakra. In many yogic practices, bhrumadhya is utilized to awaken ajna. In kriya yoga, however, one must try to locate ajna directly. We will shortly describe techniques to develop sensitivity.

All the other chakras that we have described, except mooladhara, were associated with a corresponding chakra kshetram on the front of the body. In a sense, bhrumadhya can be regarded as the kshetram of ajna chakra, although actually the relationship is much more direct.

Was this article helpful?

+1 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment