Patanjali yoga

Yoga Booty Challenge

Yoga Poses and Workouts

Get Instant Access

Patanjali yoga is often identified with raja yoga directly, for they are regarded as synonymous. However, for the sake of argument we will consider raja yoga as being the group name of all the different paths that are introspective in nature. The system of Patanjali yoga consists of eight steps or limbs which the aspirant must progressively master on the path to self-realization9.

1. Yamas (self-restraints)

2. Xiyamas (self-observances)

3. Asanas (postures)

4. Pranayama (regulation of prana through breath control)

5. Pratyahara (disassociation of consciousness with the outside environment)

6. Dharana (concentration)

7. Dhyana (meditation)

8. Sa?nadhi (identification with pure consciousness).

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Unite Mind Body Spirit With Yoga

Unite Mind Body Spirit With Yoga

Practitioners of yoga talk about a unification of body, mind and spirit acquired through practicing the yoga exercises and techniques. Learn more within this guide.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment