The ananda kanda

Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

Just below the anahata chakra there is a minor centre called the ananda kanda, the root of bliss. It is here that many people create an image of their ishta devata (personalized deity) and worship mentally. It is a centre where devotion is intensified.

At this centre there is said to be a celestial tree. In the traditional scriptures it is called kalpa vriksha (wish fulfilling tree), kalpaka and kalpa taru, all with the same meaning. It is said to be in Indra's heaven and that it grants all wishes. Of course, this belief is wrapped up in so many stories and myths, but it represents a great truth: that at the level of anahata chakra one tends to receive what one wishes for. This is a strange thing, but nevertheless an aspect of the ascent into the realms of higher understanding. One's wishes will tend to bear fruit if the sankalpa (wish or resolve) is strong enough. This applies to both positive and negative wishes. Therefore, a person at this level must be careful not to make negative resolves otherwise there will be destructive and painful results. For example, it is possible to bring about severe illness by mere thought (sankalpa). However, the law of existence makes it generally impossible for people with negative attitudes to ascend to this level. There has to be a degree of self-purification before one rises to the level of the anahata chakra, otherwise negative thoughts and ambitions could easily destroy and cause great harm.

In some tantric texts the kalpa vriksha is also called chintamani. The Sanskrit word chinta here means 'thoughts' and man; means 'jewel'. Therefore, chintamani means 'the jewel of thought'. It is said that the chintamani is a tree growing in the middle of a divine lake. The divine lake is located in the middle of a beautiful garden. The garden is said to be the abode of divine beings. The meaning of this scene is that people who live at the level of anahata chakra have a divine awareness, and that whatever they wish will happen.

We don't ask you to believe the implications behind this centre called the ananda kanda; it is better to tread the tantric-yogic path and discover the experiences for yourself.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment