The granthis

Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

The Sanskrit word granthi means 'knot'. In the context of the chakras, the word granthi is translated as 'psychic knot'. They are three in number, called the brahma, vishnu and rudra granthis. They represent levels of awareness chakra domains) where the power of maya illusion), ignorance and attachment to material things is especially strong.

1. Brahma granthi. This psychic knot functions in the region of the mooladhara chakra. It implies attachment to physical pleasures and material objects, and excessive selfishness. It also implies the ensnaring power of tamas -negativity, lethargy- and ignorance.

2. Vishnu granthi. This psychic knot operates at the region of the anahata chakra. It is associated with attachment to things and people in an emotional sense. It is associated with attachment to inner psvchic visions and so forth. It is connected with rajas, the tendency to passion and intense activities.

3. Rudra granthi functions in the region of the ajna chakra. It is associated with attachment to psychic powers such as telepathy, clair-audience and other mind phenomena. This psychic knot implies attachment to individuality. One must leave the sense of individual ego behind for further ascent, in the same way that a butterfly leaves the chrysalis behind in order to fly away to freedom. One must give up duality at the region of the rudra granthi.

All these psychic knots are obstacles or blocks on the route to sahasrara. They have to be progressively pierced or transcended in order for the kundalini power to rise through the chakras.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Chakra Checklist

The Chakra Checklist

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the back to the top of the head. New Age practices frequently associate each chakra with a particular color.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment