TChi: central section of the text, which concerns the fundamental series of prdndydmas and yantras, consists of a concise explanation and detailed instructions about rhe practice.

Regarding the concise explanation, we read:

' qyj' gi]-^s =3'«i «11 V3J- ■ i^or ^ & «TOT

As the root of Yantra is prana, one has to practice the five series of yantras applying the seven types of breathing: open hold, directed hold, closed hold, contracted hold, empty hold, smooth and rough (breathing).

The root or fundamental aim of Yantra is ro bring the life-sustaining prana as well as the other prams1 w under ones control.To accomplish this goai, it is necessary to practice the central section of Yantra which comprises five methods of prdndvama and, as an auxiliary, five series oi yantras,120 applying the seven types of breathing as required. 1 he seven types of breathings include the five types of holding:

1. Open Hold or Gangwa - holding the air in an open manner.1-1

2. Directed Hold or Zhihva - forcefully directing the air.1"

3. Closed Hold or Kyilwa - blocking the air below the navel.

4. Contracted Hold or Drenpa - drawing the abdomen in toward the spine.

5. Empty Hold or Tsatong Khyilwa - remaining empty after having completely exhaled the stale air.124 T hese holds can be applied together with:

6. Jam lung or 'smooth' breathing - inhaling or exhaling slowly, deeply and directly.

94 Till ï"l'NDAMl N t u Shribs Ol Pr\N\YAM\S \ni> Yak IK as

7. Tsublung or 'rough' breathing - inhaling or exhaling quickly, strongly and indirectly.

The detailed instructions comprise three sections: The Five Series of

Prànayâmas.The All-inclusive Method ot the Seven Lotus Poses,ll> and ■ /

The Signs and Resultant Qualities of the Practice.

Was this article helpful?

+1 0

Post a comment